It is currently Fri Apr 20, 2018 4:06 pm

All times are UTC

Post subject: Dealing with overcast and no sun.
PostPosted: Tue Jan 10, 2012 7:38 pm 

Dear experts,

Today I went to AMS for a nice day of spotting. Or so I thought. Although the forecast for today was good, it was bound to be sunny in the afternoon. The weather Gods did not deliver so it was overcast all the way. No sun whatsoever.

As I am new to my D5100 I wanted to try out what this baby could do. I started of with F/8 on the A-mode and that gave me a underexposed photo. I figured that much. I lowered the F to F/5.6 and that gave me a shutterspeed that was not high enough to get sharp photos. I bumped up the ISO to 400 which gave me much sharper photos but now the noise was just too much to process out.

So I am wondering is there any way to deal with these kind of circumstances? Or is it just impossible to get some decent photos in nothing but overcast.

Twan

PS: Does anybody know a good site to upload photos to so I can show them to you on this forum as examples without compression and a large upload space to share the original .NEF or .DNG files?

Twan van Baaren
Editor Manufacturer News
Dutch Aviation Society - Scramble
------------------------------------
www.scramble.nl

Download the latest issue of Scramble Magazine from both the Apple Store or Google Play Store!!

Last edited by Twan-v-B on Wed Jan 11, 2012 9:38 am, edited 1 time in total.

Post subject: Re: Dealing with overcast and no sun.
PostPosted: Tue Jan 10, 2012 7:48 pm 
Site Admin

Twan-v-B wrote:
Can someone please move it to the Aviation Photography section.

Indeed they can! :)

Try having a look at imgur.com, it's a free site that doesn't compress your images like Photobucket does. :)

Paul

PostPosted: Wed Jan 11, 2012 9:19 am 

Paul wrote:
Twan-v-B wrote:
Can someone please move it to the Aviation Photography section.

Indeed they can! :)